Author Topic: Does Aqua Retry Network Errors?  (Read 10441 times)

BigbirdPhila

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Does Aqua Retry Network Errors?
« on: June 14, 2017, 04:39:24 am »
Does Aqua retry network errors when trying to sync folders?  Sometimes I'm getting a network error when refreshing my folders.  It appears at the top of the screen and says "Error checking mail.  Error connecting."  It stays visible for about 4 seconds and then disappears.  It is not an error notification (the kind you can configure with a sound and/or vibration via AppSettings->ErrorNotifications).  It doesn't produce error text in red under the account name, but it does turn the time of the last access red.  The error text appears at the top of the screen briefly (about 4 seconds) and then automatically disappears.

It appears to me that once this happens, Aqua doesn't try again at the next sync interval (I have mine set to 10 minutes).  I let it sit for over an hour this evening and the time of the last access never changed.  I had to manually force a refresh.  When I did, new emails came in.

Do I have something misconfigured?  I would like it to retry or else I won't know if I have new emails unless I do manual fetches.  I prefer hearing notifications.  The account is configured IMAP, no PUSH. 10 minute sync interval.  I am using AquaMail Pro, version 1.10.0-403.
« Last Edit: June 14, 2017, 04:52:21 am by BigbirdPhila »

Kostya Vasilyev

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12742
Re: Does Aqua Retry Network Errors?
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2017, 08:35:56 pm »
For push it does retry "soon".

For scheduled checks, it will retry on next mail check - not sure why it didn't, maybe there was no network connection or maybe you swiped the app "away" from "recent apps"? (some Android versions / devices will "freeze" any "swiped" apps).
Creating debug logs for diagnostics: https://www.aqua-mail.com/troubleshooting/

The official FAQ: https://www.aqua-mail.com/faq/

Лог-файлы для диагностики: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/troubleshooting/

Вопросы и ответы: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/faq/

BigbirdPhila

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Does Aqua Retry Network Errors?
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2017, 06:07:36 pm »
I wasn't waiting long enough.  Yes, AquaMail does retry on the next scheduled mail check.  It turns the last access time to red, but doesn't update the time.  So, the time you see is the time of the last *successful* account access.  The fact that the time is red indicates there have been one (or more) errors since that time.  Knowing the current time and the sync frequency (10 minutes in my case), you can calculate how many consecutive errors there have been.

The errors I am seeing are occurring with the server imap.aol.com.  It fails randomly, but sometimes consecutively for 10 or more sync checks.  It works 100% reliably over WiFi (Verizon is my ISP), but fails randomly over cellular (AT&T Wireless).  I have my AT&T wireless service through TracFone, who buys access from AT&T.  Here's the kicker: I have configured my account on two friends' phones who have wireless service directly with AT&T and it *works* 100% of the time.

This would indicate that it's a TracFone/AT&T problem provisioning me on the AT&T network.  But my wireless access works 100% of the time for gmail servers, Yahoo email servers, and Comcast email servers (other accounts I have).  Also, I can surf all over the web with no errors.  It's just when accessing AOL servers.  This would indicate it's an AOL problem.

I can exclude email from the scenario by using a low-level TCP client to open port 143 on imap.aol.com.  When it works, the port stays open for 60 seconds before the server times me out.  When it fails, I see the port open and then immediately close (the server opens the port and then terminates the connection for some reason).  Gmail, Yahoo, and Comcast always stay open until the timeout period elapses.  Again, indicating somehow AOL doesn't like my connection via Tracfone/AT&T.  But how and why??

So far Tracfone, AT&T, and AOL "technical support" have been useless.  They each blame the other.  There seems to be a lot of knowledgeable people on this Forum, so I figured I'd elaborate on my problem to see if anyone here has some ideas.

I forgot to say that I *love* AquaMail.

StR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1558
Re: Does Aqua Retry Network Errors?
« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2017, 11:08:52 pm »
There have been some reports of problems accessing an IMAP server for a particular mail provider via specific mobile network, - but all I've seen were from Europe.
My understanding is that in most cases the culprit is unclear.

I remember, in one case (about 1-2 months ago) Kostya suggested that in some cases the (sort of low-level) mobile-network configuration option for the network can make a difference. If I remember correctly, that was "Authentication type" PAP vs CHAP (under APN properties). But you might not even have that configured on the US 4G (and probably 3G?) networks. -- I have Verizon Wireless, and neither of the APNs has that configured.

And it is not surprising that the tech-support people send you around and blame it on each other. The low-level (low-skilled, low-paid) support people do not have a clue: it is not in their script. You might have a chance of getting someone reasonable if your request to escalate your problem to the next level of tech.support (at AOL and at Tracfone).

BigbirdPhila

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Does Aqua Retry Network Errors?
« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2017, 06:57:45 pm »
Thanks for your suggestions.  I had tried PAP before but not CHAP.  Just tried CHAP -- same result (intermittent access).

This is a very nasty problem.  And it only happens accessing AOL servers.  pop.verizon.net fails 100% of the time.  pop.aol.com fails less.  And imap.aol.com fails the least, but still can fail for an extended period of time (during which time I don't get email).

The problem supposedly has been escalated to AOL's Level 2 support, but they have not been effective.  When you call in a problem, you get a call center in the Philippines.  Those people try to transcribe the problem in a problem report, but they have limited knowledge of what you are trying to describe (especially with this problem).  So, the Level 2 people get a fractured version of what's going on and I get back a ridiculous "solution".

I am sure that if I could talk to the right technical person at AOL they would be able to identify the problem pretty quickly.  I have given them a wealth of information (but I don't know how much of that was successfully transcribed).  Unfortunately, given their support structure, that doesn't look possible.

I might mention that on other boards I have heard from other people who are having the same problem.  One person has Cricket service.  Another has Consumer Cellular.  Both AT&T MVNO's.  I'm surprised it hasn't affected more people, but I think when it does people just look for a work-around (like using the AOL email app) or switch to Gmail.

What/how AOL is disliking something coming in from an AT&T MVNO totally has me stymied.  I was totally shocked when I configured my email account on two phones with direct AT&T service and it worked fine.  This problem is nasty.

Since the migration, AOL charges for technical support.  So far, it has been a waste of money for me.

BigbirdPhila

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Does Aqua Retry Network Errors?
« Reply #5 on: June 22, 2017, 08:52:46 pm »
The following question is probably best answered by Kostya, if he has the time:

When Aqua displays the error bubble  ""Error checking mail.  Error connecting.", is there some way I can display more information about the error?  Something that would help me direct AOL Level 2 technical support to a cause & possible solution?  Set some kind of developer mode flag -- or download (temporarily) a developer version of Aqua?

« Last Edit: June 23, 2017, 05:02:00 am by BigbirdPhila »

StR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1558
Re: Does Aqua Retry Network Errors?
« Reply #6 on: June 23, 2017, 05:38:20 am »
AOL support costs money? - Ouch!... I wouldn't pay for that if they haven't resolved a bit.

While Kostya is getting to it, - I'll try to give you one possibility of what you can try yourself: enable the debug log (as described in Kostya's postings signature), try to connect (to recreate the error), disable debug log and take a look at it, it will show you what is happening. It's a bit "cryptic" but you can figure out at which stage the error occurs. You might want to compare to the debug log taken during the period when a successful connection is made.

BigbirdPhila

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Does Aqua Retry Network Errors?
« Reply #7 on: June 23, 2017, 08:28:37 pm »
While Kostya is getting to it, - I'll try to give you one possibility of what you can try yourself: enable the debug log (as described in Kostya's postings signature), try to connect (to recreate the error), disable debug log and take a look at it, it will show you what is happening.

Thanks again.

Wow, what level of detail in the log file.  I looked at a single sync attempt for one folder in one account.  Probably 400 events (11 pages of text), logged to the thousandth of a second.  Makes one appreciate Aqua's internal complexity. 

I'm scanning a "good" sync attempt now to get an idea of what a successful one looks like.  Then I'll scan a bad one.  Ironically, I can't seem to cause the problem now.  I've synced the accounts 100+ times and they've all worked.  I know it's just a matter of time, though, and they'll start to fail again ...

Kostya Vasilyev

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12742
Re: Does Aqua Retry Network Errors?
« Reply #8 on: June 23, 2017, 09:06:09 pm »
Re: Then I'll scan a bad one.  Ironically, I can't seem to cause the problem now.

On a bad one, since the app will be trying to connect, you should see some sort of "Exception" (a Java Exception call stack) with a fairly detailed low level message coming from deep inside Android's networking libraries.

Roughly - roughly - similar to this:

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/3988788
Creating debug logs for diagnostics: https://www.aqua-mail.com/troubleshooting/

The official FAQ: https://www.aqua-mail.com/faq/

Лог-файлы для диагностики: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/troubleshooting/

Вопросы и ответы: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/faq/

BigbirdPhila

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Does Aqua Retry Network Errors?
« Reply #9 on: June 23, 2017, 09:51:58 pm »
On a bad one, since the app will be trying to connect, you should see some sort of "Exception" (a Java Exception call stack) with a fairly detailed low level message coming from deep inside Android's networking libraries.

Studying the "good" one, the log appears to have enough info for this problem that I should not have to enable "Log raw data" (I don't have it enabled now). 

Is that true, or should I enable it before trying to catch a "bad" one?

BigbirdPhila

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Does Aqua Retry Network Errors?
« Reply #10 on: June 23, 2017, 11:14:04 pm »
What a goldmine!  I have to find a way to get this info directly to AOL Level 2.  No more trying to transcribe the problem.

For some reason, today I'm having a hard time creating the problem.  But I had noticed in the past that I could almost never set up the accounts via my wireless connection.  Of course, if I switched immediately to WiFi *without changing anything*, the setup would go through fine.

So, I called up Aqua's "Account Setup" screen, pressed "manual", and just paged through the screens (without changing anything).  When Aqua tried to verify the settings, I got:

"Incoming mail server (IMAP): Error connecting.  Unexpected end of network stream.  Please make sure the data is correct."

Did I mention that I *love* Aqua's error detection and reporting?  An obvious step way above other applications I have used.


Anyway, here's a snapshot of the attempt to verify the account settings:

[org.kman.AquaMail.mail.MailAccount@42ea6158: id = 10002, username = Lee, email = XXXX@verizon.net, name = XXXX - Verizon (IMAP)]]
2017.06.23 15:23:31.048 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   Request for connection content://org.kman.AquaMail.data/accounts/10002/test/imap to [imap.aol.com:143, tlsStrict, login = 0, pass present = true]
2017.06.23 15:23:31.049 -0400   [POWER.415]   >>>>> Acquiring wake lock for MailConnectionManager
2017.06.23 15:23:31.051 -0400   [POWER.415]   Acquired wake lock flag 0x01000000, result 0x05000000
2017.06.23 15:23:31.055 -0400   LockManager   ... Wake lock already held
2017.06.23 15:23:31.063 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   Semaphore acquire for [imap.aol.com:143, tlsStrict, login = 0, pass present = true]
2017.06.23 15:23:31.064 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   Connecting to [imap.aol.com:143, tlsStrict, login = 0, pass present = true]
2017.06.23 15:23:31.067 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   Resolving address for imap.aol.com
2017.06.23 15:23:31.139 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   IPv4: imap.aol.com/152.163.0.98
2017.06.23 15:23:31.140 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   IPv4: imap.aol.com/152.163.3.65
2017.06.23 15:23:31.144 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   IPv4: imap.aol.com/152.163.3.66
2017.06.23 15:23:31.155 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   IPv4: imap.aol.com/152.163.0.65
2017.06.23 15:23:31.155 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   IPv4: imap.aol.com/152.163.0.97
2017.06.23 15:23:31.156 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   IPv4: imap.aol.com/152.163.0.66
2017.06.23 15:23:31.159 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   Trying: imap.aol.com/152.163.0.98:143
2017.06.23 15:23:31.216 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   Socket connection completed
2017.06.23 15:23:31.217 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   Connection to [imap.aol.com:143, tlsStrict, login = 0, pass present = true] completed: imap.aol.com/152.163.0.98:143, time = 0.15 sec
2017.06.23 15:23:31.218 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   Buffer sizes: 1048576 send, 1048576 receive
2017.06.23 15:23:31.306 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   ***** ERROR: Error in onConnected [imap.aol.com:143, tlsStrict, login = 0, pass present = true]
java.io.EOFException: Unexpected end of network stream
   at org.kman.AquaMail.e.k.c(SourceFile:300)
   at org.kman.AquaMail.e.k.h(SourceFile:305)
   at org.kman.AquaMail.e.k.c(SourceFile:84)
   at org.kman.AquaMail.e.k.a(SourceFile:59)
   at org.kman.AquaMail.mail.imap.aw.a(SourceFile:153)
   at org.kman.AquaMail.net.o.a(SourceFile:219)
   at org.kman.AquaMail.net.j.a(SourceFile:280)
   at org.kman.AquaMail.mail.imap.bq.c(SourceFile:69)
   at org.kman.AquaMail.core.t.a(SourceFile:76)
   at org.kman.AquaMail.core.w.run(SourceFile:621)
   at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:841)

Last data:
kman6 LOGOUT
Result for kman6: 0 LOGOUT completed
Thread id:
415

2017.06.23 15:23:31.314 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   Closing socket Socket[address=imap.aol.com/152.163.0.98,port=143,localPort=42143]
2017.06.23 15:23:31.316 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   Semaphore release for [imap.aol.com:143, tlsStrict, login = 0, pass present = true]
2017.06.23 15:23:31.324 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   ***** ERROR: Unable to connect to [imap.aol.com:143, tlsStrict, login = 0, pass present = true]
java.io.EOFException: Unexpected end of network stream
   at org.kman.AquaMail.e.k.c(SourceFile:300)
   at org.kman.AquaMail.e.k.h(SourceFile:305)
   at org.kman.AquaMail.e.k.c(SourceFile:84)
   at org.kman.AquaMail.e.k.a(SourceFile:59)
   at org.kman.AquaMail.mail.imap.aw.a(SourceFile:153)
   at org.kman.AquaMail.net.o.a(SourceFile:219)
   at org.kman.AquaMail.net.j.a(SourceFile:280)
   at org.kman.AquaMail.mail.imap.bq.c(SourceFile:69)
   at org.kman.AquaMail.core.t.a(SourceFile:76)
   at org.kman.AquaMail.core.w.run(SourceFile:621)
   at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:841)

Last data:
kman6 LOGOUT
Result for kman6: 0 LOGOUT completed
Thread id:
415

2017.06.23 15:23:31.332 -0400   [POWER.415]   >>>>> Releasing wake lock for MailConnectionManager
2017.06.23 15:23:31.333 -0400   [POWER.415]   Released wake lock flag 0x01000000, result 0x04000000
2017.06.23 15:23:31.335 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   Error connecting for account check imap.aol.com:143 - java.io.EOFException: Unexpected end of network stream
2017.06.23 15:23:31.341 -0400   MailStateWatcher   Service state change uri: content://org.kman.AquaMail.data/accounts/10002/test/imap, what: 101, aux = 0xfffffffe
2017.06.23 15:23:31.347 -0400   [TASKS.415]   Task [org.kman.AquaMail.mail.imap.bq@427933b0, u = content://org.kman.AquaMail.data/accounts/10002/test/imap, t = 276698, a = [org.kman.AquaMail.mail.MailAccount@42ea6158: id = 10002, username = Lee, email = XXXX@verizon.net, name = XXXX - Verizon (IMAP)]] took 0.30 seconds to process
2017.06.23 15:23:31.348 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   Network usage: 0/0 bytes read/written
2017.06.23 15:23:31.352 -0400   [LOCKS.415]   release for 10002
2017.06.23 15:23:31.356 -0400   [POWER.415]   Can't release wake lock because of: [org.kman.AquaMail.mail.e.s@42921df8, u = content://org.kman.AquaMail.data/accounts/10002/test/smtp, t = 276699, a =


Immediately after that, Aqua tried to verify the SMTP settings.  That looks like it worked this time, although I have seen it occasionally say it couldn't validate my account credentials:

2017.06.23 15:23:31.386 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   Connecting to [smtp.aol.com:465, sslStrict, login = 256, pass present = true]
2017.06.23 15:23:31.387 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   Using strict SSL/STARTTLS factory
2017.06.23 15:23:31.388 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   Resolving address for smtp.aol.com
2017.06.23 15:23:31.391 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   IPv4: smtp.aol.com/152.163.0.69
2017.06.23 15:23:31.396 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   Trying: smtp.aol.com/152.163.0.69:465
2017.06.23 15:23:31.398 -0400   SSLHardening   Setting SSL ciphers: [TLS_ECDHE_RSA_WITH_AES_256_CBC_SHA, TLS_ECDHE_ECDSA_WITH_AES_256_CBC_SHA, TLS_ECDH_RSA_WITH_AES_256_CBC_SHA, TLS_ECDH_ECDSA_WITH_AES_256_CBC_SHA, TLS_RSA_WITH_AES_256_CBC_SHA, TLS_ECDHE_RSA_WITH_3DES_EDE_CBC_SHA, TLS_ECDHE_ECDSA_WITH_3DES_EDE_CBC_SHA, TLS_ECDH_RSA_WITH_3DES_EDE_CBC_SHA, TLS_ECDH_ECDSA_WITH_3DES_EDE_CBC_SHA, TLS_ECDHE_RSA_WITH_AES_128_CBC_SHA, TLS_ECDHE_ECDSA_WITH_AES_128_CBC_SHA, TLS_RSA_WITH_AES_128_CBC_SHA, TLS_DHE_RSA_WITH_AES_256_CBC_SHA, TLS_DHE_RSA_WITH_AES_128_CBC_SHA, TLS_ECDH_RSA_WITH_AES_128_CBC_SHA, TLS_ECDH_ECDSA_WITH_AES_128_CBC_SHA, TLS_ECDHE_RSA_WITH_RC4_128_SHA, TLS_ECDHE_ECDSA_WITH_RC4_128_SHA, SSL_RSA_WITH_RC4_128_MD5, SSL_RSA_WITH_RC4_128_SHA, TLS_ECDH_ECDSA_WITH_RC4_128_SHA, TLS_ECDH_RSA_WITH_RC4_128_SHA, TLS_DHE_DSS_WITH_AES_128_CBC_SHA, TLS_DHE_DSS_WITH_AES_256_CBC_SHA, SSL_RSA_WITH_3DES_EDE_CBC_SHA, SSL_DHE_RSA_WITH_3DES_EDE_CBC_SHA, SSL_DHE_DSS_WITH_3DES_EDE_CBC_SHA, SSL_RSA_WITH_NULL_MD5, SSL_RSA_WITH_NULL_SHA, TLS_ECDH_ECDSA_WITH_NULL_SHA, TLS_ECDH_RSA_WITH_NULL_SHA, TLS_ECDHE_ECDSA_WITH_NULL_SHA, TLS_ECDHE_RSA_WITH_NULL_SHA, SSL_DH_anon_WITH_RC4_128_MD5, TLS_DH_anon_WITH_AES_128_CBC_SHA, TLS_DH_anon_WITH_AES_256_CBC_SHA, SSL_DH_anon_WITH_3DES_EDE_CBC_SHA, SSL_DH_anon_WITH_DES_CBC_SHA, TLS_ECDH_anon_WITH_RC4_128_SHA, TLS_ECDH_anon_WITH_AES_128_CBC_SHA, TLS_ECDH_anon_WITH_AES_256_CBC_SHA, TLS_ECDH_anon_WITH_3DES_EDE_CBC_SHA, SSL_DH_anon_EXPORT_WITH_RC4_40_MD5, SSL_DH_anon_EXPORT_WITH_DES40_CBC_SHA, TLS_ECDH_anon_WITH_NULL_SHA, TLS_EMPTY_RENEGOTIATION_INFO_SCSV]
2017.06.23 15:23:31.422 -0400   SSLHardening   Setting SSL protocols: [TLSv1.2, TLSv1.1, TLSv1]
2017.06.23 15:23:31.504 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   Socket connection completed
2017.06.23 15:23:33.879 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   Connection to [smtp.aol.com:465, sslStrict, login = 256, pass present = true] completed: smtp.aol.com/152.163.0.69:465, time = 2.49 sec
2017.06.23 15:23:33.880 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   Buffer sizes: 1048576 send, 1048576 receive
2017.06.23 15:23:33.894 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   Encryption: protocol TLSv1, cipher TLS_RSA_WITH_AES_256_CBC_SHA
2017.06.23 15:23:33.933 -0400   [SMTP.415]   Data is <417>:
220-mtaout-aan02.mx.aol.com ESMTP MUA/Third Party Client Interface
220-AOL and its affiliated companies do not
220-authorize the use of its proprietary computers and computer
220-networks to accept, transmit, or distribute unsolicited bulk
220-e-mail sent from the internet.
220-Effective immediately:
220-AOL may no longer accept connections from IP addresses
220 which no reverse-DNS (PTR record) assigned.

2017.06.23 15:23:33.934 -0400   [SMTP.415]   Resp [read greeting]: 220-mtaout-aan02.mx.aol.com ESMTP MUA/Third Party Client Interface


Can I unquestionably tell (and show) AOL that it's their problem -- that AT&T got me there and that they're not the ones who unexpectedly closed the imap.aol.com connection?  Any insights into the interpretation of the above data most appreciated.



BigbirdPhila

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Does Aqua Retry Network Errors?
« Reply #11 on: June 23, 2017, 11:27:31 pm »
To add more info, I tried port 993/SSL.  I'm getting this intermittent error from Aqua:

"Incoming mail server (IMAP): Error connecting.  Connection closed by peer.  Please make sure the data is correct."

Haven't seen the "Unexpected end of network stream" error yet.

Kostya Vasilyev

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12742
Re: Does Aqua Retry Network Errors?
« Reply #12 on: June 25, 2017, 02:59:57 pm »
Thanks.

The SMTP server isn't liking your device's IP address.

The "no reverse PTR - no service" has been called flat out wrong in various places on the Internet -- on the other hand, your mobile provider *should* assign DNS names to client IPs. So this one is "mutual".

For IMAP, the server is supposed to seed a "greeting" immediately upon connecting - but it aborts the connection instead.

The "Unexpected end of network stream" and "Connection closed by peer" are pretty much the same. I suppose it you used SSL + port 993, you'd be getting "SSL handshake errors" instead. Again, same thing - the network connecting getting unexpectedly closed from AOL's side (probably same "DNS" policy, I'd guess).

And speaking of next steps --

The SMTP server sends an error message that spells everything out completely, i.e. it's deliberate on AOL's part.

But there is a good chance that they (even if you get through to the right people) will just tell you that it's a company policy and cannot be changed, and ask you to talk to your Internet provider (whether landline or mobile).

Ugly...
Creating debug logs for diagnostics: https://www.aqua-mail.com/troubleshooting/

The official FAQ: https://www.aqua-mail.com/faq/

Лог-файлы для диагностики: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/troubleshooting/

Вопросы и ответы: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/faq/

BigbirdPhila

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Does Aqua Retry Network Errors?
« Reply #13 on: June 25, 2017, 04:38:53 pm »
The SMTP server isn't liking your device's IP address.

Many thanks for your analysis, Kostya.  I think I confused the issue, though.

The smtp server connection actually worked in this case (the connection was not prematurely terminated).  I included it as an example of what a "successful" connection looks like.  smtp connections have failed in the past, but not this time.  The text at 15:23:33.933 is standard boilerplate they always send out, I think.


Can you analyze the first part -- the connection to imap.aol.com?  That's the one that got prematurely terminated in this case.   And, remember, it works *intermittently*; it doesn't fail all the time.  So, it's not a blanket rejection policy.

Your help is most appreciated.  This is more progress than I've made in 6 weeks talking to TracFone, AT&T, and AOL combined.

Kostya Vasilyev

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12742
Re: Does Aqua Retry Network Errors?
« Reply #14 on: June 25, 2017, 05:01:47 pm »
Oh so the SMTP worked after that "policy warning"? Sorry I missed that.

Re: IMAP

ERROR: Error in onConnected [imap.aol.com:143, tlsStrict, login = 0, pass present = true]
java.io.EOFException: Unexpected end of network stream


That's all we know. The "basic" (non-encrypted) socket connected worked, and the app was expecting the server to send a "greeting", but that failed.

The greeting normally looks like this (the "* OK IMAP4 ready", the exact string may vary, but there has to be one).

$ telnet imap.aol.com 143
Trying 64.12.88.130...
Connected to nginx.mx.aol.com.aol.akadns.net.
Escape character is '^]'.
* OK IMAP4 ready


And it didn't even get that far.

Looking at timestamps, the connection was aborted immediately (i.e. there was no delay for a time-out), either from the server's side or by the network between the device and the server:

2017.06.23 15:23:31.217 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   Connection to [imap.aol.com:143, tlsStrict, login = 0, pass present = true] completed: imap.aol.com/152.163.0.98:143, time = 0.15 sec
2017.06.23 15:23:31.218 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   Buffer sizes: 1048576 send, 1048576 receive
2017.06.23 15:23:31.306 -0400   [NETWRK.415]   ***** ERROR: Error in onConnected [imap.aol.com:143, tlsStrict, login = 0, pass present = true]


I'd say you could try imap.aol.com + SSL + port 993, but then it might start failing during the "SSL handshake", which would be same thing really.
Creating debug logs for diagnostics: https://www.aqua-mail.com/troubleshooting/

The official FAQ: https://www.aqua-mail.com/faq/

Лог-файлы для диагностики: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/troubleshooting/

Вопросы и ответы: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/faq/