Author Topic: Gmail-app/Aquamail sent mail  (Read 7997 times)

GekkeHenkie

Gmail-app/Aquamail sent mail
« on: October 05, 2016, 03:15:57 pm »
Hi Guys,

I'm fairly new at using Aquamail and I am generally very happy with it. Uptill now I only have one problem with the program, and I hope that you can shed some light on it...

I use Aquamail and the Gmail-app on my Android phone (HTC One M8s, Android version 6.0.1), using IMAP. I also retrieve my mail on my laptop with Outlook 2010, using POP3. My problem is that mail sent with Aquamail does not appear in Sent Items in Outlook. Mail sent with the Gmail-app does. Mail sent with either app appear in the Gmail webapp under Sent Mail (which obviously uses IMAP as well). My question is: What does Aquamail do differently than the Gmail-app? And how can I configure Aquamail to work the same way as the Gmail-app, and get my sent mail to show up in Outlook?

Please don't tell me to use IMAP in Outlook as well, as I want to have a local copy of my e-mail in a PST-file. I know I could make an local copy of an IMAP-folder in Outlook, but this requires a bit of extra work on my part and the Gmail-app shows it can work just fine without this.

Thanks for any replies!

btw. Pardon my English, I'm Dutch :)

StR

Re: Gmail-app/Aquamail sent mail
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2016, 05:07:47 pm »
Hello!
First of all, your English is fine, you don't need to worry about it. :)

An important question is: what is your e-mail provider: is it Gmail, or something else? (Gmail server behavior is very different from the rest.)

Even more important question is: when you are saying that "Mail sent with Gmail-app does [appear in Sent Items in Outlook]", how is that possible? If Outllook is using POP3, it cannot sync/download ANY folder but Inbox.
So, there is some contradiction here.

Before us trying to guess the culprit(s) of your problem, could you please clarify these questions?