Author Topic: how do i fix?  (Read 3730 times)

Shadow666

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
how do i fix?
« on: May 18, 2021, 09:26:04 am »
Incoming mail server (IMAP): Login error. NO AUTHENTICATE Invalid credentials.

Outgoing mail server (SMTP): Login error. 535 (#AUTH005) Too many bad auth attempts..

Please make sure your settings are correct.

phred

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 384
Re: how do i fix?
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2021, 02:14:09 pm »
Please make sure your settings are correct.
Are you 100% certain that your settings are correct?
Have you checked the IP for both IMAP and STMP?
Have you checked the port number for each?

Go to your email providers website and get the information from there and enter it in AM exactly as on the website.

Shadow666

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: how do i fix?
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2021, 01:07:40 am »
Please make sure your settings are correct.
Are you 100% certain that your settings are correct?
Have you checked the IP for both IMAP and STMP?
Have you checked the port number for each?

Go to your email providers website and get the information from there and enter it in AM exactly as on the website.

thats why im asking yes everything is correct as it has in the last only since the 17th is started this on its own i never changed anything at all

phred

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 384
Re: how do i fix?
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2021, 05:04:08 am »
Was AM updated around that date?
Have you checked with your provider to confirm that they haven't changed any IPs or ports?

After this I'm out of ideas/suggestions.
« Last Edit: May 19, 2021, 02:13:22 pm by phred »

Shadow666

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: how do i fix?
« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2021, 05:11:09 am »
Was AM updated AM around that date?
Have you checked with your provider to confirm that they haven't changed any IPs or ports?

After this I'm out of ideas/suggestions.

I even went to aol help to check the addresses and ports and they r identical

Nedialko Kondev, MobiSystems, AquaMail Support

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 250
Re: how do i fix?
« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2021, 09:46:03 am »
Hi,

If this is AOL, please note that they deliberately force third party apps to use an app specific password. This happens for Yahoo, Verizon and all companies under the Verizon Media company... Or whatever it's called now. We have an good write up in the Help Center:
https://www.mobisystems.com/help-center/aqua-mail/?cat=277&qst=1651

Or do this:
1. Sign in and go to the AOL Account security page.
2. Click Generate app password or Manage app passwords.
3. Select Other from the drop-down menu > click Generate.
4. Follow the instructions below the password.
- Be sure to enter the password into Aqua Mail without any spaces.
5. Click Done.
6. Use this app password and your email address to sign in to Aqua Mail.

The password is reset when changing devices, clearing app data and fresh installation of Aqua Mail.

To address this, we're going to add a link to the Add Account screen in Aqua Mail that will direct users to the help topic.

Regards,
Nedialko

chris122380

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 215
Re: how do i fix?
« Reply #6 on: May 19, 2021, 03:19:04 pm »
Hi,

If this is AOL, please note that they deliberately force third party apps to use an app specific password. This happens for Yahoo, Verizon and all companies under the Verizon Media company... Or whatever it's called now. We have an good write up in the Help Center:
https://www.mobisystems.com/help-center/aqua-mail/?cat=277&qst=1651

Or do this:
1. Sign in and go to the AOL Account security page.
2. Click Generate app password or Manage app passwords.
3. Select Other from the drop-down menu > click Generate.
4. Follow the instructions below the password.
- Be sure to enter the password into Aqua Mail without any spaces.
5. Click Done.
6. Use this app password and your email address to sign in to Aqua Mail.

The password is reset when changing devices, clearing app data and fresh installation of Aqua Mail.

To address this, we're going to add a link to the Add Account screen in Aqua Mail that will direct users to the help topic.

Regards,
Nedialko

I have also found that you can usually keep app specific passwords across installs and devices if you use the Aqua Mail Backup & Restore.

Nedialko Kondev, MobiSystems, AquaMail Support

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 250
Re: how do i fix?
« Reply #7 on: May 21, 2021, 08:36:39 am »
Hi,

If this is AOL, please note that they deliberately force third party apps to use an app specific password. This happens for Yahoo, Verizon and all companies under the Verizon Media company... Or whatever it's called now. We have an good write up in the Help Center:
https://www.mobisystems.com/help-center/aqua-mail/?cat=277&qst=1651

Or do this:
1. Sign in and go to the AOL Account security page.
2. Click Generate app password or Manage app passwords.
3. Select Other from the drop-down menu > click Generate.
4. Follow the instructions below the password.
- Be sure to enter the password into Aqua Mail without any spaces.
5. Click Done.
6. Use this app password and your email address to sign in to Aqua Mail.

The password is reset when changing devices, clearing app data and fresh installation of Aqua Mail.

To address this, we're going to add a link to the Add Account screen in Aqua Mail that will direct users to the help topic.

Regards,
Nedialko

I have also found that you can usually keep app specific passwords across installs and devices if you use the Aqua Mail Backup & Restore.

Hi again,

Thanks for the info. I did try this on a few devices, but it seems inconsistent. So I did no recommend that in the beginning  :)

Regards,
Nedialko