Author Topic: New to AquaMail with some questions  (Read 5648 times)

droidphilev

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
New to AquaMail with some questions
« on: September 29, 2016, 10:43:44 am »
Hi,

First of all: if this has been answered before please don't kill me. English is not my mother language but i did try to search for answers.

-I saw that the setup wizard still uses old servers for fastmail. These should be:
imap.fastmail.com SSL 993
smtp.fastmail.com SSL 465
both using an app-specific password.

No problem though as manual setup is easy to do :-)

-It seems that 2 panel view is not possible for landscape only? If i enable this setting i also get another view in portrait. Will this landscape only 2 panel UI come in the future?

-I have setup 4 accounts (pro version of AquaMail since yesterday). In the "account panel" there are 4 chips all with the assigned color for each account and containing the first letter of the account name. Is it possible to change these into icons chosen by user? i can't find such setting?


thank in advance!

StR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1558
Re: New to AquaMail with some questions
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2016, 03:52:29 pm »
imap.fastmail.com SSL 993
smtp.fastmail.com SSL 465
...
-I have setup 4 accounts (pro version of AquaMail since yesterday). In the "account panel" there are 4 chips all with the assigned color for each account and containing the first letter of the account name. Is it possible to change these into icons chosen by user? i can't find such setting?

Welcome to Aquamail!

I don't know what the current settings for fastmail servers are, but I am sure Kostya will be happy to update those. Just a quick comment that Fastmail's page notes for both of the servers listed above:
"SSL/TLS Encryption:   Enabled, but not STARTTLS"
SMTP: "Authentication:   PLAIN"

SMTP:
"If your client supports STARTTLS only, you can use port 587 with STARTTLS enabled."

Source: https://www.fastmail.com/help/technical/servernamesandports.html


As for the chips, - you can give a name to (rename) each account. If those names are starting from different letters, - the chips are different.
Long press on the account in the account list view.  -> "Rename the account" ->
"Account name: ..." - change to what you want it to be called. By default, this is your account address. If you change it, it will not affect your address, this is only how the account shows up on this list view (and affects the chips).

Sorry, I don't know about two-panel view...

droidphilev

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: New to AquaMail with some questions
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2016, 05:25:15 pm »
imap.fastmail.com SSL 993
smtp.fastmail.com SSL 465
...
-I have setup 4 accounts (pro version of AquaMail since yesterday). In the "account panel" there are 4 chips all with the assigned color for each account and containing the first letter of the account name. Is it possible to change these into icons chosen by user? i can't find such setting?

Welcome to Aquamail!

I don't know what the current settings for fastmail servers are, but I am sure Kostya will be happy to update those. Just a quick comment that Fastmail's page notes for both of the servers listed above:
"SSL/TLS Encryption:   Enabled, but not STARTTLS"
SMTP: "Authentication:   PLAIN"

SMTP:
"If your client supports STARTTLS only, you can use port 587 with STARTTLS enabled."



As for the chips, - you can give a name to (rename) each account. If those names are starting from different letters, - the chips are different.
Long press on the account in the account list view.  -> "Rename the account" ->
"Account name: ..." - change to what you want it to be called. By default, this is your account address. If you change it, it will not affect your address, this is only how the account shows up on this list view (and affects the chips).

Sorry, I don't know about two-panel view...

Thank you!

Well... i know about the account name. Still it would be kinda nice to have, for example, a company logo as a 'chip'.  :-)

Hopefully Kostya can shed a light on "dual panel in landscape only"
« Last Edit: September 29, 2016, 05:29:09 pm by droidphilev »

Kostya Vasilyev

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12740
Re: New to AquaMail with some questions
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2016, 10:18:37 pm »
Fastmail is my favorite mail service, and the app has had a preset for a long long time, imap.messagingengine.com, etc.


-- hey look, they've moved their server names under the fastmail.com domain!

I will update the app's preset.

Account images: other than what was already suggested, you can add your account email addresses into the phone's Contacts and set images there.
Creating debug logs for diagnostics: https://www.aqua-mail.com/troubleshooting/

The official FAQ: https://www.aqua-mail.com/faq/

Лог-файлы для диагностики: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/troubleshooting/

Вопросы и ответы: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/faq/

Kostya Vasilyev

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12740
Re: New to AquaMail with some questions
« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2016, 10:22:26 pm »
Quote
-- hey look, they've moved their server names under the fastmail.com domain!

I will update the app's preset.

Not so fast.

The ...fastmail.com servers only work with app specific passwords, an additional step that the user has to know he/she has to take.

The ...messagingengine.com servers work with "overall" password.

I will be keeping the ...messagingengine.com server names.
Creating debug logs for diagnostics: https://www.aqua-mail.com/troubleshooting/

The official FAQ: https://www.aqua-mail.com/faq/

Лог-файлы для диагностики: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/troubleshooting/

Вопросы и ответы: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/faq/

droidphilev

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: New to AquaMail with some questions
« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2016, 07:53:38 am »
Hi @Kostya,

Nice to meet!

About Fastmail: i know the "old" server will still work but they advice to update. AFAIK they will eventually stop working.

About reading pictures for accoutn chips: it works when i add my myself as a "normal" contact BUT it seems that AM doesn't read the "me" card. Can that be fixed please?

Any idea about dual panel in landscape only please?

Kostya Vasilyev

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12740
Re: New to AquaMail with some questions
« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2016, 07:42:45 pm »
The trouble with imap.fastmail.com and smtp.fastmail.com is that --

-- those servers accept *only* app specific passwords and *do not accept* the "overall" account password.

And the user has to know this in advance.

Without the user having generated a password, he/she will get a login error (which doesn't even say "please generate an app specific password") -->

--> this piece of shit app is broken, can't even log into a mail server.



Quote
About reading pictures for accoutn chips: it works when i add my myself as a "normal" contact BUT it seems that AM doesn't read the "me" card. Can that be fixed please?

Ummm....

Google made it so that querying the "me" information is 1) quite slow 2) requires additional (separate) function calls, compared to "regular" contacts.

Why they couldn't just have a "flag" on some contact that says "this is the ME contact" I don't know...

I'll think about it.



Quote
Any idea about dual panel in landscape only please.

I think it's a good idea. In fact I've thought that for quite some time now, but having trouble getting to work on that (among all the other stuff), sorry.
Creating debug logs for diagnostics: https://www.aqua-mail.com/troubleshooting/

The official FAQ: https://www.aqua-mail.com/faq/

Лог-файлы для диагностики: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/troubleshooting/

Вопросы и ответы: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/faq/

Kostya Vasilyev

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12740
Re: New to AquaMail with some questions
« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2016, 10:01:28 pm »
Quote
About reading pictures for accoutn chips: it works when i add my myself as a "normal" contact BUT it seems that AM doesn't read the "me" card. Can that be fixed please?

Done, and even seems to be working :)

Look for it in the next dev build.
Creating debug logs for diagnostics: https://www.aqua-mail.com/troubleshooting/

The official FAQ: https://www.aqua-mail.com/faq/

Лог-файлы для диагностики: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/troubleshooting/

Вопросы и ответы: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/faq/

droidphilev

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: New to AquaMail with some questions
« Reply #8 on: October 02, 2016, 11:36:43 am »
Quote
About reading pictures for accoutn chips: it works when i add my myself as a "normal" contact BUT it seems that AM doesn't read the "me" card. Can that be fixed please?

Done, and even seems to be working :)

Look for it in the next dev build.

aha, thx!!!

are dev build using the same signature or can they be running next to release version?
« Last Edit: October 02, 2016, 11:39:57 am by droidphilev »

droidphilev

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: New to AquaMail with some questions
« Reply #9 on: October 02, 2016, 11:48:53 am »
Please forget last question Kostya. I backed up "stable" and am running latest "dev". Got the icon in account panel. Thank you very much!!!

mikeone

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2762
Re: New to AquaMail with some questions
« Reply #10 on: October 02, 2016, 12:01:50 pm »
Please forget last question Kostya. I backed up "stable" and am running latest "dev". Got the icon in account panel. Thank you very much!!!
You should be able to update (without any problems) to the next stable version in the Play Store when it has been launched by Kostya.

droidphilev

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: New to AquaMail with some questions
« Reply #11 on: October 03, 2016, 10:36:51 am »
Thank you for the info mikeone!