Author Topic: AquaMail Updater  (Read 135018 times)

pyler

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 412
Re: AquaMail Updater
« Reply #15 on: July 03, 2014, 09:18:09 pm »
I really like the Google's app beta testing system. I set as tester for many apps and everything just works.

I think everyone can create a group on Google Plus, don't they? This could be better for you. You can get a bug reports from users directly via report feature of the Google Play Store. And for us, it would means less work to check if you push a new development build.

AFAIK, I am one of your followers :D definitely not a spammer :P
« Last Edit: July 03, 2014, 09:28:20 pm by pyler »
Do you want to use the latest AquaMail version?
Try AquaMail Updater!

Kostya Vasilyev

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12740
Re: AquaMail Updater
« Reply #16 on: July 03, 2014, 10:10:21 pm »
Yes, I know the system works as far as technology goes, but what I meant about Google Plus is:

- Since I don't have many subscribers in G+, would this really reach more users than my posting here on the forum?

- Will I have the bandwidth to read email, and this forum, and Google+ on top of that? I want to keep the forum in any case -- it can do things that G+ can't, and it's already here.

- How will it work wrt. to versionCode values?

Maybe you know? I can't seem to find any specifics:

Let's say 1.4.0 is in production, versionCode 1400

I publish a 1.4.1 , its versionCode will probably need to be > 1400, so let's pick 1410

Now I want to release a critical update to 1.4.0.

I have to use a versionCode > 1400. Will it also need to be > 1410?

Let's say I pick 1411.

Will the beta users get updated from 1410 (1.4.1 beta) to 1411 (1.4.0 with a critical fix?), going backwards?

Creating debug logs for diagnostics: https://www.aqua-mail.com/troubleshooting/

The official FAQ: https://www.aqua-mail.com/faq/

Лог-файлы для диагностики: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/troubleshooting/

Вопросы и ответы: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/faq/

Kostya Vasilyev

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12740
Re: AquaMail Updater
« Reply #17 on: July 03, 2014, 10:34:44 pm »
My Internet connection is fine.

I mean *my* bandwidth, time / energy.
« Last Edit: July 03, 2014, 10:38:53 pm by Kostya Vasilyev, Aqua Mail »
Creating debug logs for diagnostics: https://www.aqua-mail.com/troubleshooting/

The official FAQ: https://www.aqua-mail.com/faq/

Лог-файлы для диагностики: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/troubleshooting/

Вопросы и ответы: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/faq/

pyler

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 412
Re: AquaMail Updater
« Reply #18 on: July 04, 2014, 01:27:41 pm »
Kostya, don't worry. Testers will come for sure. You should just update app description on GP with note about beta testing. I recommend you also post this note also on some famous Android site (XDA or Android reddit).

Quote from: Kostya
Let's say 1.4.0 is in production, versionCode 1400
I publish a 1.4.1 , its versionCode will probably need to be > 1400, so let's pick 1410
Now I want to release a critical update to 1.4.0.
I have to use a versionCode > 1400. Will it also need to be > 1410?
Let's say I pick 1411.
Will the beta users get updated from 1410 (1.4.1 beta) to 1411 (1.4.0 with a critical fix?), going backwards?

IMO, If your beta testing channel will have 1410 and you push critical bugfix update 1411 to release channel, testers will get (1411 > 1410), but they of course lose 1.4.1 beta (1410). So for testers, you should do 1.4.1 with a critical fix. But maybe I am completly wrong.. Never test it myself. But you can test with no risk, it is free, isn't it? So If it meant more work for you, you could ditch it.

BTW, how my app works for you, guys? I was quite happy this morning, when I took my phone and saw notification about 1.4.0.27 :P But I am not satisfied with code I used :D
BTW, I had forgotten to tell you that I added some new strings. You can find them on pastebin (see first post). Try update them (I only need strings after tag <!-- v1.1 -->).
« Last Edit: July 04, 2014, 01:32:02 pm by pyler »
Do you want to use the latest AquaMail version?
Try AquaMail Updater!

Kostya Vasilyev

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12740
Re: AquaMail Updater
« Reply #19 on: July 05, 2014, 02:31:45 am »
@pyler - I was going to update the Russian translation, but got "Pastebin.com is under heavy load right now :("

Are you going to make a GitHub repository? :)

( yes, I'm trolling, but with a gentle smile )
Creating debug logs for diagnostics: https://www.aqua-mail.com/troubleshooting/

The official FAQ: https://www.aqua-mail.com/faq/

Лог-файлы для диагностики: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/troubleshooting/

Вопросы и ответы: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/faq/

pyler

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 412
Re: AquaMail Updater
« Reply #20 on: July 05, 2014, 12:51:18 pm »
Pastebin works now.

Yeah, I want to learn how upload my projects on github, so I may do it if everything goes well :D

edit: added some new strings. look on it, guys.
« Last Edit: July 05, 2014, 04:17:17 pm by pyler »
Do you want to use the latest AquaMail version?
Try AquaMail Updater!

Kostya Vasilyev

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12740
Re: AquaMail Updater
« Reply #21 on: July 05, 2014, 11:27:24 pm »
Russian

1.1

    <string name="settings">Настройки</string>
    <string name="check_for_updates">Проверять обновления</string>
    <string name="every_hour">Раз в час</string>
    <string name="every_3_hours">Раз в 3 часа</string>
    <string name="every_6_hours">Раз в 6 часа</string>
    <string name="every_12_hours">Раз в 12 часов</string>
    <string name="every_24_hours">Раз в сутки</string>
    <string name="never">Никогда</string>
    <string name="new_version_available">Доступна новая версия</string>
    <string name="changelog">Список изменений</string>
    <string name="version">Версия</string>
   
    <!-- v1.2 -->
    <string name="cant_load_changelog">Ошибка загрузки списка изменений</string>
    <string name="show_changelog">Показывать список измеений</string>
    <string name="show_changelog_info">Показывать список измений при появлении новой версии</string>
    <string name="check_for_updates_info">Периодически проверять наличие обновлений</string>
Creating debug logs for diagnostics: https://www.aqua-mail.com/troubleshooting/

The official FAQ: https://www.aqua-mail.com/faq/

Лог-файлы для диагностики: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/troubleshooting/

Вопросы и ответы: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/faq/

pyler

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 412
Re: AquaMail Updater
« Reply #22 on: July 06, 2014, 12:10:38 pm »
Okey. v1.2 released
+ Add option to disable/enable showing changelog when new version
+ Changed status bar icon (blue > white.. KitKatish)
+ Bug fixes, some parts of app rewrited (hope it will work well..)
+ Updated translations

Download APK in first post.

Open sourced https://github.com/pylerSM/AquaMailUpdater
« Last Edit: July 06, 2014, 12:44:31 pm by pyler »
Do you want to use the latest AquaMail version?
Try AquaMail Updater!

pyler

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 412
Re: AquaMail Updater
« Reply #23 on: July 06, 2014, 06:20:58 pm »
Thanks for good notes!
1, agree. I will add it.
2, agree. I was thinking about it also but I had no time to do it. I will add it.
3, agree. I will add options Always, When new version, Never. BTW, you can always use Menu > Changelog. I will add it.

BTW, check intervals are okey for you? Should I add some others or remove some current ones? I use myself option "Every hour" (I am so crazy :D)
« Last Edit: July 06, 2014, 06:29:39 pm by pyler »
Do you want to use the latest AquaMail version?
Try AquaMail Updater!

Fcasoli

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 541
Re: AquaMail Updater
« Reply #24 on: July 12, 2014, 09:04:28 pm »
I check every hour in your download suite, with this small app I can do every half hour or more!!!

thanks


Kostya Vasilyev

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12740
Re: AquaMail Updater
« Reply #25 on: July 12, 2014, 10:22:25 pm »
Yes, great job, Pyler.

How about a live show on MTV? :)
Creating debug logs for diagnostics: https://www.aqua-mail.com/troubleshooting/

The official FAQ: https://www.aqua-mail.com/faq/

Лог-файлы для диагностики: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/troubleshooting/

Вопросы и ответы: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/faq/

pyler

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 412
Re: AquaMail Updater
« Reply #26 on: July 12, 2014, 10:45:03 pm »
First you, than me. Since no AquaMail = no AquaMail Updater.
Do you want to use the latest AquaMail version?
Try AquaMail Updater!

Kostya Vasilyev

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12740
Re: AquaMail Updater
« Reply #27 on: July 12, 2014, 10:55:06 pm »
Ok, I'll be Paris Hilton, and you can be Nicole Richie :)
Creating debug logs for diagnostics: https://www.aqua-mail.com/troubleshooting/

The official FAQ: https://www.aqua-mail.com/faq/

Лог-файлы для диагностики: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/troubleshooting/

Вопросы и ответы: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/faq/

pyler

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 412
Re: AquaMail Updater
« Reply #28 on: July 14, 2014, 08:11:32 pm »
New strings for v1.3:
        <string name="release_type">Release type</string>
   <string name="stable">Stable version</string>
   <string name="beta">Beta version</string>
   <string name="always">Always</string>
   <string name="when_new_version">When new version</string>
Do you want to use the latest AquaMail version?
Try AquaMail Updater!

Kostya Vasilyev

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12740
Re: AquaMail Updater
« Reply #29 on: July 14, 2014, 11:23:58 pm »
<string name="release_type">Канал обновлений</string>
<string name="stable">Стабильный</string>
<string name="beta">Бета</string>
<string name="always">Всегда</string>
<string name="when_new_version">Когда новая версия</string>

I'd like more context for the last one - "when_new_version" - so far the translation is literal word for word.
Creating debug logs for diagnostics: https://www.aqua-mail.com/troubleshooting/

The official FAQ: https://www.aqua-mail.com/faq/

Лог-файлы для диагностики: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/troubleshooting/

Вопросы и ответы: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/faq/