Author Topic: Unable to Select "Add an Account" From the Menu  (Read 8535 times)

netcaretaker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Unable to Select "Add an Account" From the Menu
« on: June 20, 2013, 10:15:57 pm »
I have no problem adding the first account. I was on the free version and thought that because of that it would not let me. I upgraded to the pay version and I am still unable to Select "Add an Account". I have uninstalled, reinstalled and added the first account, when I go to select "Add an Account" I am unable to select it in any way. Have killed the app, rebooted, reinstalled, nothing seems to be working.

I am on a nexus 10 with 4.2

Thomas

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 273
  • Just enjoying life...
Re: Unable to Select "Add an Account" From the Menu
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2013, 10:23:55 pm »
IMHO Even in the free version you can add 2 accounts. Does it say AquMail Pro at the top of the main GUI?
Moto X - XT1058
Stock 4.4.4
Root, Faux Kernel, Boot-loader unlocked, etc. blabla ..

Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 (N8013)
Gnabo Rom V7 - 4.4.2
Root, Boeffla's Kernel, etc. bla bla ..

netcaretaker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Unable to Select "Add an Account" From the Menu
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2013, 10:46:21 pm »
Yep, it does say Aqumail Pro at the top of the screen.

I did understand that it should have been able to let me add a second email account with the free version, but it did not allow me to. So, thinking that there might have been a change to only allow one account on the free version, and liking the way the app works, I decided to buy the Pro version. Now I still cannot add a second account which makes the program much less useful to me with several email accounts.

Thomas

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 273
  • Just enjoying life...
Re: Unable to Select "Add an Account" From the Menu
« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2013, 10:50:28 pm »
Very strange. Lets wait for the developer.
Perhaps an Android 4.2.2 compatibility problem? Are you using Stock ROM?
Moto X - XT1058
Stock 4.4.4
Root, Faux Kernel, Boot-loader unlocked, etc. blabla ..

Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 (N8013)
Gnabo Rom V7 - 4.4.2
Root, Boeffla's Kernel, etc. bla bla ..

netcaretaker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Unable to Select "Add an Account" From the Menu
« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2013, 10:59:32 pm »
Yep, brand new out of the box, have not touched it. Stock everything, all upgraded out of the box when it was removed yesterday.

It is actually for my wife to replace her iPad, but it is not going very well so far, I expect it to be sent back and I will be going to the apple store if I can not find an email client she likes, which so far I have been unable to do. :(

Thomas

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 273
  • Just enjoying life...
Re: Unable to Select "Add an Account" From the Menu
« Reply #5 on: June 21, 2013, 12:46:48 am »
I sent Kostya (developer) an email, perhaps he can have a quick look at your problem.
Please be patient, he is ill.
« Last Edit: June 21, 2013, 12:58:11 am by Thomas »
Moto X - XT1058
Stock 4.4.4
Root, Faux Kernel, Boot-loader unlocked, etc. blabla ..

Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 (N8013)
Gnabo Rom V7 - 4.4.2
Root, Boeffla's Kernel, etc. bla bla ..

Kostya Vasilyev

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12740
Re: Unable to Select "Add an Account" From the Menu
« Reply #6 on: June 21, 2013, 01:03:16 am »
Hi,

Can you elaborate on what "when I go to select "Add an Account" I am unable to select it in any way" means?

Are you able to open the menu (the three dots icon, Google calls it "the overflow affordance")?

Do you see the menu item for adding an account there?

When you tap it, what exactly happens, does it crash? Not respond to touch at all?

The screenshots below are taken on a Galaxy Nexus and Nexus 7 with 4.2.2 stock both.

Creating debug logs for diagnostics: https://www.aqua-mail.com/troubleshooting/

The official FAQ: https://www.aqua-mail.com/faq/

Лог-файлы для диагностики: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/troubleshooting/

Вопросы и ответы: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/faq/

netcaretaker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Unable to Select "Add an Account" From the Menu
« Reply #7 on: June 21, 2013, 05:41:14 pm »
Hi,

Can you elaborate on what "when I go to select "Add an Account" I am unable to select it in any way" means?

Netcaretaker - Ya, the selection is there but I can not select it.

Are you able to open the menu (the three dots icon, Google calls it "the overflow affordance")?

Netcaretaker - it is there, I can not select it to add a new account

Do you see the menu item for adding an account there?

Netcaretaker - yes

When you tap it, what exactly happens, does it crash? Not respond to touch at all?

Netcaretaker - nothing happens, it does not change color, I can select anything else, but not add account

The screenshots below are taken on a Galaxy Nexus and Nexus 7 with 4.2.2 stock both.

I am glad it works on those, it does not work on mine.

Thomas

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 273
  • Just enjoying life...
Re: Unable to Select "Add an Account" From the Menu
« Reply #8 on: June 21, 2013, 05:46:13 pm »
Simple question. Lets try to get closer to the problem and solution.

The menu point "Add new account" is grayed out or can you select it?
Moto X - XT1058
Stock 4.4.4
Root, Faux Kernel, Boot-loader unlocked, etc. blabla ..

Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 (N8013)
Gnabo Rom V7 - 4.4.2
Root, Boeffla's Kernel, etc. bla bla ..

netcaretaker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Unable to Select "Add an Account" From the Menu
« Reply #9 on: June 21, 2013, 06:04:57 pm »
As stated several times NO I cannot select it.

netcaretaker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Unable to Select "Add an Account" From the Menu
« Reply #10 on: June 21, 2013, 06:07:38 pm »
And just to let everyone know, I have had 3 andriod phone and have rooted them all. This seems strange to me, but I will continue to work on it.

Kostya Vasilyev

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12740
Re: Unable to Select "Add an Account" From the Menu
« Reply #11 on: June 23, 2013, 02:40:09 am »
FWIW, I've got two 10" tablets here, and it works fine. Not questioning what you're reporting, just saying it not common :)

Open the app's settings, under Look and Feel, and turn off two panel UI, just as a test?

Another idea: system settings app -> "{} Developer Options" -> disable "Force GPU rendering" if enabled?

Are you able to select other items from that menu, such as "preferences", "about", "backup & restore"?

Creating debug logs for diagnostics: https://www.aqua-mail.com/troubleshooting/

The official FAQ: https://www.aqua-mail.com/faq/

Лог-файлы для диагностики: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/troubleshooting/

Вопросы и ответы: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/faq/