Author Topic: Deleting from notification list brings up second notification  (Read 2834 times)

JasW

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Hi Kostya,

When Aquamail notifications appear in the notifications list, the options to delete or mark as read are displayed (see pic below). However, when I select delete, another notification appears that says "Confirm with the button below." There is no button below, of course, and when I touch this second notification, I'm taken to the inbox.

I just want to be able to use that first delete and be done with it. Why is this second notification coming up? FWIW, I have the accounts in question set up to remove from server when deleting.

 

Kostya Vasilyev

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12743
Re: Deleting from notification list brings up second notification
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2013, 03:54:13 am »
The app requests that the second (confirmation) notification also have buttons, but the final decision on this is made by the Android system code.

I'm not sure why they have it this way, but that's how it is. Again,the app requests, and Android grants or not.

When the confirmation notification is collapsed, you can expand it either by swiping away some other notification you don't need, or by doing the two-finger "zoom out" pinch gesture on the notification (not very obvious, to say the least, but that's how Android folks decided to do it).

Here is what it should look like, when expanded.

Creating debug logs for diagnostics: https://www.aqua-mail.com/troubleshooting/

The official FAQ: https://www.aqua-mail.com/faq/

Лог-файлы для диагностики: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/troubleshooting/

Вопросы и ответы: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/faq/

JasW

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Deleting from notification list brings up second notification
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2013, 03:30:20 pm »
Great, thank you, Kostya. That works. Would it be possible for the user to have a choice as to whether the second notification comes up at all? That is, an on/off setting for "confirm deletions from notification screen" or something like that. 

Kostya Vasilyev

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12743
Re: Deleting from notification list brings up second notification
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2013, 02:40:35 am »
I'll think about a separate setting, right now it's controlled by the app's global confirmation setting (which I believe has some logic, but I see how sometimes a separate one is desired)...

Not sure if anyone's already filed a bug with Google for this... In my opinion, this just plain sucks:

- either notifications should never collapse, or Android should use the same collapse/expand logic for the second one....

- and the gesture to expand them is just horrendous, made all the more clear by having to explain it ("you do what? like zooming out, only strictly horizontal?")
Creating debug logs for diagnostics: https://www.aqua-mail.com/troubleshooting/

The official FAQ: https://www.aqua-mail.com/faq/

Лог-файлы для диагностики: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/troubleshooting/

Вопросы и ответы: https://www.aqua-mail.com/ru/faq/